Minnesota the No. 1 overall seed in NCAA D-I women’s tournament

The field of eight teams for the Division I women’s NCAA tournament was announced Sunday.

Quarterfinal games will be played on the campuses of the participating teams, while the Frozen Four will be hosted by Quinnipiac on March 21 and 23 at the TD Sports Bank Center in Hamden, Conn.

Three conferences were awarded automatic bids for the 2014 tournament – Minnesota (WCHA), Cornell (ECAC Hockey) and Boston University (Hockey East).

Boston College, Clarkson, Harvard, Mercyhurst and Wisconsin were selected as at-large teams.

Minnesota enters the tournament as the No. 1 seed and will host BU. Cornell, the No. 2 seed, will host Mercyhurst, while Clarkson enters the tournament as the No. 3 seed and will host Boston College. Wisconsin, the No. 4 seed, will take on Harvard.

Semifinal games will be played at 5 p.m. and 8 p.m. EST on Friday, March 21. The championship game will be played at 3 p.m. EST on Sunday, March 23.

Minnesota has won the past two national championships.