Field of eight announced for NCAA D-III women’s tournament

The eight teams for the 2014 NCAA Division III women’s tournament were announced Monday morning.

Of the eight teams in the championship field, five of the teams received automatic bids as winners of their conference championship.

Three schools were selected from Pool C, which consists of independent institutions and institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that were not the conference champion.

Norwich (ECAC East), Plattsburgh (ECAC West), St. Thomas (MIAC), Williams (NESCAC) and Lake Forest (NCHA) earned the auto-bids, with the at-large selections going to Elmira, Wisconsin-River Falls and Wisconsin-Stevens Point.

Four first-round games will be played at campus sites March 14 and 15.

The highest-seeded team advancing from the first round will host the semifinals March 21 and the third-place game and finals March 22.

In 2013, Elmira defeated Middlebury 1-0 in Superior, Wis., to win its third NCAA title.