Five finalists announced for inaugural Mike Richter Award

Massachusetts-Lowell sophomore Connor Hellebuyck has made the final five nominees for the Mike Richter Award this season (photo: Melissa Wade).

The five finalists for the first-ever Mike Richter Award as the top goaltender in NCAA Division I hockey were announced Wednesday.

The finalists and eventual winner will be chosen by a committee of coaches, scouts and media members with the winner being announced at the Frozen Four in Philadelphia.

Overall, the five goaltenders have a combined 2.09 GAA, .933 save percentage and a grade-point average of 3.23.

Player's NameClassSchoolW-L-TGAASV%SO
Sam BrittainSr.Denver17-13-62.06.9345
Connor HellebuyckSo.Massachusetts-Lowell15-8-21.87.9384
Joel RumpelJr.Wisconsin19-5-12.00.9312
Adam WilcoxSo.Minnesota23-4-61.91.9343
Clay WittJr.Northeastern17-12-32.37.9324