Twenty nominees announced for 2015 Senior CLASS Award

St. Cloud State defenseman and captain Andrew Prochno is one of 20 candidates for the 2015 Senior CLASS Award (photo: Candace Horgan).

Twenty men’s Division I players who excel both on and off the ice were selected as candidates Wednesday for the 2014-15 Senior CLASS Award.

To be eligible for the award, a nominee must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 20 candidates (below) will be narrowed to 10 finalists later in the season and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot.

The winner will be announced during the Frozen Four in April. The 2014 winner was Rensselaer forward Brock Higgs.

Player's NamePositionSchool
Daniel CiampiniFUnion
Austin CzarnikFMiami
Chad DemersFAir Force
Tanner FritzFOhio State
Spiro GoulakosDColgate
Zach HymanFMichigan
Tanner KeroFMichigan Tech
Adam KrauseFMinnesota-Duluth
Matt LoritoFBrown
Mark MacMillanFNorth Dakota
Nick MattsonDNorth Dakota
Ross MauermannFProvidence
C.J. MotteGFerris State
Mike PaliottaDVermont
Andrew ProchnoDSt. Cloud State
Kyle RauFMinnesota
Peter SchneiderFNotre Dame
Clay WittGNortheastern
Cody WydoFRobert Morris
Oleg YevenkoDMassachusetts


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here