Oswego’s Hulshof named SUNYAC Player of the Year after 40-point campaign

Oswego earned an at-large bid to the NCAA tournament and sophomore Shawn Hulshof is leading the offensive charge for the Lakers (photo: Dan Hickling).

The SUNYAC has announced its individual year-end awards, in addition to three All-Conference Teams.

All the awards were voted on by the head coaches in the conference.

The MVP Herb Hammond Award as Player of the Year was given to Oswego’s Shawn Hulshof, while Rookie of the Year went to Cortland’s Dan Broderick and Plattsburgh’s Bob Emery was named Coach of the Year.

Hulshof, a sophomore forward, led the Lakers with 40 points (19 goals, 21 assists), helping the Lakers to an 18-3-4 overall and 12-2-2 regular-season conference record.

Broderick tallied 40 points with 17 goals and 23 assists, including 26 points in conference play.

The Coach of the Year award is Emery’s seventh. In his 26th season at the helm of the Plattsburgh program, he led the Cardinals to a 13-2-1 conference record and the SUNYAC tournament championship crown, its first since 2012.

2014-15 SUNYAC First Team All-Conference

Player's NamePositionClassSchool
Chase NieuwendykFJr.Brockport
Nick ZappiaFSr.Cortland
Shawn HulshofFSo.Oswego
Chris LukerDJr.Brockport
Bobby GertsakisDSr.Oswego
Jon HallGJr.Potsdam

2014-15 SUNYAC Second Team All-Conference

Player's NamePositionClassSchool
Alex BottenFSo.Oswego
Michael CassidyFSr.Plattsburgh
Connor ToomeyFSr.Plattsburgh
Brandon BeadowDSr.Plattsburgh
Anthony CalabreseDJr.Plattsburgh
Matt ZawadzkiGSo.Oswego

2014-15 SUNYAC Third Team All-Conference

Player's NamePositionClassSchool
Tyler BricklerFSr.Geneseo
Mike MontagnaFSr,Oswego
Kevin EmmerlingFJr.Plattsburgh
Ben KramerDJr.Buffalo State
Jack CaradonnaDSr.Geneseo
Nick HorriganGJr.Geneseo