Amherst’s Arena selected AHCA D-III Coach of the Year

Amherst coach Jack Arena has been named the winner of the Edward Jeremiah Award as the STX/AHCA Division III Men’s Coach of the Year.

It is the second such honor for Arena, who also captured this award in 2012.

Amherst enters this weekend’s NCAA Division III semifinals sporting an overall record of 24-4-2, facing a Friday evening (7:30 p.m. CST) semifinal date with Wisconsin-Stevens Point at Ridder Arena in Minneapolis.

Arena became Amherst’s head coach immediately following his senior year with the program. Tied for fourth on Amherst’s all-time scoring list, he capped off his career in 1983 by receiving the Hobey Baker Award as the best player in Division III.

The Edward Jeremiah Award is named in honor of the great Dartmouth head coach and was first presented in 1970.

The runner-up for this year’s award is Adam Krug of Adrian, also an NCAA semifinalist.

Arena will formally receive the award at the annual AHCA Celebration of Men’s Ice Hockey Banquet, held in conjunction with the AHCA Convention in Naples, Fla., on Saturday, May 2.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here