Hockey East media pick Boston College to win 2015-16 conference title

New Hampshire forward Tyler Kelleher was named to the Hockey East media preseason All-Conference Team (photo: Melissa Wade).

Boston College was selected by the Hockey East media to win the league’s regular-season title for 2015-16 in the sixth annual poll of the Hockey East Writers & Broadcasters Association.

The Eagles received 20 of a possible 35 first-place votes and five teams in all were named on ballots for first place.

Last year’s regular season and tournament champion, Boston University, finished second in the balloting and was chosen for first on seven of 35 ballots.

The media also selected a preseason All-Hockey East Team.

Ballots were received from print and broadcast media covering the 12 league schools, as well as from regional and national media.

The official Hockey East preseason coaches’ poll will be released on Sept. 21 at the league’s annual preseason luncheon in Boston.


School (First-place votes)Points
1. Boston College (20)397
2. Boston University (7)374
3. Massachusetts-Lowell (5)344
4. Providence (2)328
5. Notre Dame (1)250
6. Vermont237
7. Northeastern217
8. New Hampshire187
9. Connecticut142
10. Merrimack119
11. Maine87
12. Massachusetts48


Player's NamePositionClassSchool
Tyler KelleherFJr.New Hampshire
Danny O'ReganFSr.Boston University
Kevin RoyFSr.Northeastern
Alex TuchFSo.Boston College
Matt GrzelcykDSr.Boston University
Ian McCoshenDJr.Boston College
Thatcher DemkoGJr.Boston College


  1. BU loses two captains, plus their best player, and their starting goalie and the media still picks them to finish 2nd?? I’m thinking 3rd, possibly 4th.

  2. How good is Lowell this year? Are they really a top-3 team in the league coming in? Not that I’m doubting them, I just don’t know…

    • They lost virtually nobody of consequence with the exception of Kamrass and recruited well, bringing in a blue chip goalie in Cleary to push Boyle for the #1 spot, a blue chip D-man in the brother of former River Hawk and current MN Wild D-man Christian Folin. and 4 or 5 other very promising recruits. They’ll be as good or better than last year. I think the drop off for this team is 16-17′ season. They’ll lose a third of their team to graduation.

    • As a big Lowell fan I am a little skeptical as well as the Riverhawks are not getting any real blue chippers and Hellybuyck is long gone. It is tough to keep winning in this league with a lot of grit and only a few snipers. It would be nice to see a few more finishers. Somehow they seem to be in the mix at the end. Go hawks!

  3. Hockey East looks to be deep again. I hope the league gets more than 3 teams in the NCAA tournament as they had the 2 finalists last year. The NCHC was overrated last year and didn’t deserve twice as many teams than HE. Lowell got screwed….


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here