Michigan’s Connor takes top player, freshman Big Ten season awards

Minnesota freshman Eric Schierhorn registered 14 wins and a 2.67 GAA in his first season with the Gophers (photo: Jim Rosvold).

The Big Ten announced Monday the two All-Big Ten teams, All-Freshman Team and individual award winners.

Michigan’s Kyle Connor was named Big Ten Player and Freshman of the Year, while also earning Scoring Champion honors, while Connor’s Wolverines teammate Zach Werenski was tabbed the Defensive Player of the Year, which is awarded to a defenseman or forward.

Minnesota goaltender Eric Schierhorn was named the Goaltender of the Year and the Wolverines’ Red Berenson was selected as the Coach of the Year.

Connor led the conference with 43 points and 22 goals in conference play. The freshman averaged a conference-leading 2.15 points per game in conference action to pace an offense that led all Big Ten schools with 5.35 goals per game in conference contests. Connor also led the conference with seven goals and 12 points on the power play in Big Ten games.

Werenski finished at the top of Big Ten defensemen scoring with 18 points and 14 assists in conference games. Nine of his points came on the power play, tallying three goals and six assists on the man advantage to lead all Big Ten defensemen in conference contests. The Wolverines finished second in the conference in scoring defense in Big Ten play.

Just a freshman, Schierhorn led the conference with 14 wins in conference play and also paced all Big Ten goalies with a 2.67 GAA in conference play, including a shutout on the road against Wisconsin.

Berenson guided Michigan to a 22-7-5 overall record and a 12-5-3-2 conference mark. The Wolverines earned the No. 2 seed and a first-round bye in the Big Ten Tournament.

The Big Ten also named Boo Nieves (Michigan), Michael Ferrantino (Michigan State), Jake Bischoff (Minnesota), Craig Dalrymple (Ohio State), Luke Juha (Penn State) and Kevin Schulze (Wisconsin) as conference Sportsmanship Award honorees.

2015-16 First Team All-Big Ten

Player's NamePositionClassSchool
J.T. CompherFJr.Michigan
Kyle ConnorFFr.Michigan
Tyler MotteFJr.Michigan
Zach WerenskiDSo.Michigan
Josh HealeyDJr.Ohio State
Eric SchierhornGFr.Minnesota

2015-16 Second Team All-Big Ten

Player's NamePositionClassSchool
Hudson FaschingFJr.Minnesota
Justin KloosFJr.Minnesota
Nick SchilkeyFJr.Ohio State
Michael BrodzinskiDJr.Minnesota
Vince PedrieDFr.Penn State
Eamon McAdamGJr.Penn State

2015-16 Big Ten Honorable Mention

Player's NamePositionClassSchool
David GoodwinFJr.Penn State
Jake BischoffDJr.Minnesota
Jake HildebrandGSr.Michigan State
Christian FreyGJr.Ohio State

2015-16 Big Ten All-Freshman Team

Player's NamePositionSchool
Kyle ConnorFMichigan
Mason JobstFOhio State
Luke KuninFWisconsin
Zach OsburnDMichigan State
Vince PedrieDPenn State
Eric SchierhornGMinnesota


  1. Wasn’t Michigan picked to win the B10 in almost all preseason polls? How is Berenson chosen COY for failing to guide the Wolverines to a title?

    • You know if the Gophers and Lucia were picked to win the B1G and won it would be said that they just fufilling expectations and that is not worthy of COY and if they finished second even more people would be calling for Lucia to be fired. It seems that Berenson won by default. The Gophers were only a few games over .500 overall and with Penn State fading down the stretch. Everyone else was too far south of .500 to even be considered. Funny how expectations are so different.

  2. I don’t have any complaints with the player honors, other than maybe Kunin of the Badgers deserving 2nd team. But for crying out loud, Berensen as COY? How do you get rewarded for letting the weakest Gopher team in 5 years beat you the conference title. And getting only 12 regulation wins in 20 starts against weak in-conference competition? Red picks up talented players from the NTDP like the rest of us buying power tools from Menards. Anything less than 16 conference wins was gross underachievement with the team he had this year.

  3. Now that I have my rant out of the way, I noticed that of the 16 players recognized, only Jake Hildedbrand is a senior. Gotta wonder how many of the underclassmen will play professionally next season.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here