Honors roll on as Babson’s Murray takes home Sid Watson Award

Babson goalie Jamie Murray leaves the school as one of the most decorated players of all time (photo: Babson Athletics).

Babson senior goaltender Jamie Murray has been chosen as the 2016 winner of the Sid Watson Award, given to the best NCAA Division III men’s player.

Murray went 14-5-3 this year with a 1.61 GAA and a .940 save percentage.

He’s a three-time First Team All-American and recently signed a professional contract with the San Jose Sharks organization. Murray also earned the Joe Concannon Award this season.

“Jamie has established himself as one of the best players in college hockey, as well as one of the greatest individuals in the history of our college during his career,” said Babson coach Jamie Rice in a statement. “It has been an honor to coach such an outstanding, humble and terrific young man. He has often been the difference-maker in the games he has played, and he is a player that I am confident Sid Watson would have been proud to coach as well.”

In addition to his on-ice accomplishments, Murray was one of five finalists for the Hockey Humanitarian Award in both his junior and senior years.

The runner-up for the 2016 Sid Watson Award is Geneseo junior forward Stephen Collins.

St. Thomas goalie Drew Fielding won the 2015 award.