Boston College alum Janney, 1996 World Cup of Hockey team picked for U.S. Hockey Hall

Former Boston College standout Craig Janney and the 1996 World Cup of Hockey Team will be enshrined into the United States Hockey Hall of Fame as the Class of 2016.

USA Hockey made the announcement Monday night.

“This is a truly magnificent class,” said USA Hockey president Jim Smith in a news release. “Each member of the Class of 2016 has had an extraordinary impact on our sport and is most deserving to take their place among the hockey immortals in the United States.”

Janney skated 12 years in the NHL after being selected by the Boston Bruins in the first round (13th overall) of the 1986 NHL Entry Draft.

Among American-born skaters in the NHL, Janney ranks first in career assists per game (0.741) and fourth in points per game (0.988), while his 563 assists are 11th all-time. In 760 career NHL games, the Hartford, Conn., native registered 188 goals and 563 assists for 751 points while playing for seven teams (Boston, St. Louis, San Jose, Winnipeg, Phoenix, Tampa Bay, New York Islanders).

Prior to the NHL, Janney skated two seasons with the Eagles. In his second campaign (1986-87), he was a Hobey Baker finalist after setting Hockey East single-season records in points (74) and assists (51). In total that season, Janney recorded 81 points (26 goals, 55 assists) in 37 games.

Internationally, Janney represented the United States on six occasions, highlighted by helping the U.S. get to the finals of the Canada Cup in 1991 and also earn its first-ever medal (bronze) at the IIHF World Junior Championship in 1986.

The World Cup team, which won the inaugural event over Canada, had numerous NCAA alumni, including forwards Tony Amonte (Boston University), Bill Guerin (BC), Brett Hull (Minnesota-Duluth), John LeClair (Vermont), Shawn McEachern (BU), Joel Otto (Bemidji State), Brian Rolston (Lake Superior State), Bryan Smolinski (Michigan State), Keith Tkachuk (BU), Doug Weight (LSSU) and Scott Young (BU), defensemen Shawn Chambers (Alaska), Chris Chelios (Wisconsin), Brian Leetch (BC) and Gary Suter (Wisconsin) and goalies Jim Carey (Wisconsin), Guy Hebert (Hamilton) and Mike Richter (Wisconsin).

All the Team USA coaches played in college as well – head coach Ron Wilson (Providence) and associate coaches John Cunniff (BC), Paul Holmgren (Minnesota) and current Yale coach Keith Allain (Yale).

Normand “Bill” Belisle, who is entering his 42nd season as head coach at Mount Saint Charles Academy (Woonsocket, R.I.) in 2016-17, will also be inducted.

The date and location of the 2016 U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame induction, as well as the presentation of the Lester Patrick Trophy, will be revealed later this month.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here