Comley, Barto head up 2017 AHCA award winners

The University of Wisconsin Badgers and Michigan State University Spartans played to a 4-4 tie in their College Hockey Showcase matchup on Saturday, November 24, 2007, at Munn Ice Arena in East Lansing, Michigan. (Melissa Wade)
Rick Comley coached 38 years in the D-I ranks and won national championships at Northern Michigan (1991) and Michigan State (2007) (photo: Melissa Wade).

The American Hockey Coaches Association has announced its major awards for 2017.

Eight individuals who have made unique contributions to amateur hockey in the United States will be recognized during the 2017 AHCA Convention in Naples, Fla., with the men’s hockey honorees being recognized on Wednesday, April 26, and the women’s hockey award recipients honored on Friday, April 28.

Heading the list of award winners is former Michigan State, Northern Michigan and Lake Superior head coach Rick Comley, winner of 783 games and two national championships during a 38-year career, who will receive the John MacInnes Award.

Also being recognized among former NCAA head coaches is Jackie Barto, a former head coach at Providence and Ohio State, who will receive the Women’s Hockey Founders Award.

Other honorees include Jack Barzee (John “Snooks” Kelley Founders Award), Wally Johnson (Jim Fullerton Award), Mike Guentzel (Terry Flanagan Award), Pete Sears (John Mariucci Award), George Griggs (Joe Burke Award) and Joel Johnson (Women’s Ice Hockey Assistant Coach Award).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here