Former Bowdoin coach Meagher to receive Parker-York Award

Terry Meagher's final regular-season home game at Sid Watson Arena was a gem as Bowdoin downed Trinity 2-1 last Saturday night. (Brian Beard/Creative Images Photography)
Terry Meagher coached at Bowdoin for 33 years, amassing 542 wins in that span (photo: Brian Beard/Creative Images Photography).

Bowdoin coach emeritus Terry Meagher will be recognized as the 2017 recipient of the Parker-York Award, given by the New England Hockey Writers Association.

The award, given annually since 1959 for outstanding contributions to New England collegiate hockey, will be presented at the association’s banquet on April 11 at the Prince Restaurant in Saugus, Mass.

The legendary 33-year head coach at Bowdoin, Meagher stepped down last season after a stellar career that included 542 wins (sixth all-time among NCAA Division III coaches), a .669 winning percentage (10th all-time), two NESCAC championships and two ECAC championships.

Meagher was honored by the New England Hockey Writers Association as its Division II-III New England Coach of the Year three times. In both 1986 and 1989, he was presented with the Edward Jeremiah Mememorial Trophy, which is awarded by the American Hockey Coaches Association to the National College Division Coach of the year.

A 1976 graduate of Boston University, Meagher made three trips to the NCAA Division I Final Four in his playing career with the Terriers. During his senior year, he was voted ECAC tournament Most Valuable Player and the team’s Most Valuable Player after leading the squad in scoring. He also won the distinguished scholar-athlete award at BU as a senior.

Meagher’s predecessor, former Bowdoin coach Sid Watson, received the distinguished honor – formerly known as the Sheaffer Pen Award – in 1983.