10 semifinalists named for 2017 Mike Richter Award

Canisius’ Charles Williams is one of 10 semifinalists for the Mike Richter Award (photo: Omar Phillips).
Three Atlantic Hockey goaltenders were among the 10 semifinalists named Thursday for the 2017 Mike Richter Award.Army West Point senior Parker Gahagen, Air Force sophomore Shane Starrett and Canisius senior Charles Williams made the cut for the fourth annual award honoring the most outstanding goaltender in Division I men’s hockey.The other semifinalists: Bemidji State junior Michael Bitzer, St. Lawrence junior Kyle Hayton, Denver junior Tanner Jaillet, Harvard junior Merrick Madsen, Minnesota Duluth freshman Hunter Miska, Boston University freshman Jake Oettinger and Notre Dame junior Cal Petersen.Candidates were determined by nominations from head coaches. A committee of coaches, scouts and media members votes on the award.The award, sponsored by Let’s Play Hockey and the Herb Brooks Foundation, will be presented April 7 at the Frozen Four in Chicago.