Boston College, Clarkson each have three nominees for 2018 Patty Kazmaier Award

Ann-Renée Desbiens with the 2017 Patty Kazmaier Award. (Nicole Haase)
Wisconsin goaltender Ann-Renée Desbiens was the recipient of the 2017 Patty Kazmaier Award (photo: Nicole Haase).

The USA Hockey Foundation today announced the 10 finalists for the 2018 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award.

The honor is bestowed annually upon the top player in NCAA Division I women’s hockey, and this year will be unveiled at a brunch ceremony at McNamara Alumni Center in Minneapolis, Minn., on Saturday, March 17, as part of the NCAA Women’s Frozen Four weekend hosted by the University of Minnesota.

Player's NamePositionClassSchool
Victoria BachFSr.Boston University
Sydney BaldwinDSr.Minnesota
Kristen CampbellGSo.Wisconsin
Loren GabelFJr.Clarkson
Savannah HarmonDSr.Clarkson
Brittany HowardFSr.Robert Morris
Caitrin LonerganFSo.Boston College
Toni Ann MianoDSr.Boston College
Shea TileyGSr.Clarkson
Daryl WattsFFr.Boston College

The selection process commenced earlier this month when NCAA Division I women’s hockey coaches were asked to nominate players for the award. Players who were nominated by multiple coaches were then placed on an official ballot, which was sent back to the coaches to vote for the top 10 finalists.

The independent accounting firm PricewaterhouseCoopers, LLP, tabulated the ballots.

The three finalists, including the recipient of the 2018 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, will be chosen by a 13-person selection committee made up of NCAA Division I women’s hockey coaches, representatives of print and broadcast media, an at-large member and representative of USA Hockey. The top three finalists will be announced on Thursday, March 1.