WCHA women’s conference unveils six individual award winners for ’17-18 season

Lexi Bender (BC - 21), Sydney Baldwin (Minnesota - 9) - The University of Minnesota Golden Gophers defeated the Boston College Eagles 3-1 to win the 2016 NCAA national championship on Sunday, March 20, 2016, at the Whittemore Center Arena in Durham, New Hampshire. (Melissa Wade)
Sydney Baldwin (Minnesota – 9) has been named the WCHA’s defensive player of the year (photo: Melissa Wade).

The women’s WCHA on Wednesday announced six individual awards for the 2017-18 season.

The league recognized its Offensive Player, Defensive Player, Goaltender, Rookie, Outstanding Student-Athlete and Coach of the Year, along with the WCHA Scoring and Goaltending Champions.

“On behalf of the WCHA, our sincere congratulations to our individual award winners,” said WCHA women’s commissioner Katie Million in a statement. “To be recognized as the best of the best from such a deep and talented group of nominees is a tremendous honor. We are proud to applaud their fantastic seasons, both on and off the ice.”

Offensive Player of the Year: Abby Roque, So., F, Wisconsin

Defensive Player of the Year: Sydney Baldwin, Sr., D, Minnesota

Goaltender of the Year: Kristen Campbell, So., G, Wisconsin

Rookie of the Year: Emma Maltais, Fr., F, Ohio State

Outstanding Student-Athlete of the Year: Catherine Daoust, Sr., D, Minnesota Duluth

Coach of the Year: Nadine Muzerall, Ohio State

Scoring Champion: Grace Zumwinkle, Fr., F, Minnesota

Goaltending Champion: Kristen Campbell, So., G, Wisconsin


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here