Women’s Hockey East announces All-Rookie Team, other individual honors

Toni Ann Miano (BC - 18) - The Boston College Eagles defeated the visiting Syracuse University Orange 10-2 on Saturday, October 4, 2014, at Kelley Rink in Conte Forum in Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts. (Melissa Wade)
BC senior Toni Ann Miano has been unanimously selected as Hockey East’s best defenseman (photo: Melissa Wade).

The women’s Hockey East on Wednesday announced the 2017-18 Pro Ambitions All-Rookie Team and five other season awards as voted by the league’s nine head coaches.

The honorees will be recognized at Friday night’s annual awards banquet.

The 2017-18 Pro Ambitions All-Rookie Team consists of eight players and includes goaltenders Ava Boutilier (New Hampshire) and Corinne Schroeder (Boston University), defenseman Anna Zíková (Maine) and forwards Jesse Compher (Boston University), Veronika Pettey (Northeastern), Maureen Murphy (Providence), Natalie Snodgrass (Connecticut) and Daryl Watts (Boston College).

Also set to be recognized at Friday night’s ceremonies will be Boston College senior Toni Ann Miano, unanimously selected as the conference’s best defenseman. It marks the sixth straight year a blueliner from Boston College has won the award.

UConn sophomore Briana Colangelo will be honored as the best defensive forward during the regular season, while teammate and senior forward Leah Lum is set to be recognized with the conference’s sportsmanship award.

Two statistical award champions will also be acknowledged, both going to the league’s top scorer and Three Stars Award winner in Watts, who accumulated the highest total of points from first, second, and third star accolades during league games over the course of the regular season.