Top 10 candidates named for 2018 Hobey Baker Memorial Award

7 Apr 17: The Hobey Baker Award Presentation at the Aon Ballroom on Navy Pier in Chicago, IL. (Jim Rosvold/Hobey Baker Award)
Denver defenseman Will Butcher was named the 2017 Hobey Baker Memorial Award winner last April in Chicago (photo: Jim Rosvold/Hobey Baker Award).

The Hobey Baker Memorial Award Committee announced Wednesday the top ten candidates for the 2018 award, honoring college hockey’s top player.

All six Division I conferences are represented.

Alphabetically, they are: Henrik Borgström (Denver), Ryan Donato (Harvard), Matthew Galajda (Cornell), Adam Gaudette (Northeastern), Dylan McLaughlin (Canisius), Cale Morris (Notre Dame), Colton Point (Colgate), Jimmy Schuldt (St. Cloud State), Dylan Sikura (Northeastern) and C.J. Suess (Minnesota State).

The ten finalists were selected by voting from all 60 Division I head coaches and by online fan balloting. Next, the 27-member selection committee and an additional round of fan balloting through the Hobey website at from March 14-25 will determine this year’s Hobey Baker winner.

Criteria for the award include: displaying outstanding skills in all phases of the game, strength of character on and off the ice, sportsmanship and scholastic achievements.

The Hobey Hat Trick will be announced on March 29, 2018 and the Hobey Baker Award winner will be announced on Friday, April 6, from St. Paul, Minn., during the Frozen Four from the legendary Roy Wilkins Auditorium at 6 p.m. EDT.

Denver defenseman Will Butcher was the 2017 winner.