Galajda, Jaillet, Morris, Point, Primeau named finalists for 2018 Mike Richter Award

Tanner Jaillet was introduced as the award winner. (2017 Melissa Wade)
Tanner Jaillet is introduced as the 2017 Mike Richter Award winner alongside the award’s namesake (photo: Melissa Wade).

Denver senior Tanner Jaillet is among five finalists named Thursday for the 2018 Mike Richter Award, which honors the most outstanding goalie in college hockey.

After winning the 2017 Mike Richter Award, Jaillet aims to become the first player in the five-year history of the award to win twice.

The other four finalists are Matthew Galajda (Cornell), Cale Morris (Notre Dame), Colton Point (Colgate) and Cayden Primeau (Northeastern).

Candidates for the award are nominated by all 60 Division I coaches. The semifinalists and finalists are selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and members of the media. Criteria for the award includes outstanding skills on the ice and good academic standing with special consideration given to academic achievement and community involvement.

The winner of the award will be announced on Friday, April 6, at the Frozen Four in St. Paul, Minn.