Borgström, Donato, Gaudette tabbed as 2018 Hobey Hat Trick finalists

Henrik Borgström, Ryan Donato and Adam Gaudette all signed NHL contracts since their respective 2017-18 seasons ended (photos:

The Hobey Baker Memorial Award Committee announced Thursday the three Hobey Baker Hat Trick finalists for the 2018 award, honoring college hockey’s top player.

Alphabetically, they are Denver sophomore forward Henrik Borgström, Harvard junior forward Ryan Donato and Northeastern junior forward Adam Gaudette.

All three have given up collegiate eligibility since the end of their seasons and signed NHL contracts – Borgström with Florida, Donato with Boston and Gaudette with Vancouver.

The three finalists were selected from the initial list of the top ten candidates by the 27-member selection committee and an additional round of online fan balloting to determine this year’s Hobey Baker winner.

Criteria for the award includes: displaying outstanding skills in all phases of the game, strength of character on and off the ice, sportsmanship and scholastic achievements.

This year’s Hobey Baker Award winner will be announced Friday, April 6, from the legendary Roy Wilkins Auditorium in St. Paul, Minn., during the Frozen Four. The announcement will be televised live on the NHL Network at 6 p.m. ET, and streamed at


  1. Sorry gimruis. As you know I thought Donato would make the final three, and he did. They not only didn’t hold his Olympic stint against him, I actually think his stellar play helped him in the voting. Even a blind squirrel gets an acorn now and then.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here