Twenty semifinalists named for 67th Walter Brown Award as top American-born player in New England

Chase Priskie (Quinnipiac - 13). (Shelley M. Szwast)
Washington prospect Chase Priskie has tallied 14 goals and 33 points in 26 games this season for Quinnipiac (photo: Shelley M. Szwast).

The Gridiron Club of Greater Boston announced today the 20 semifinalists for the 67th Walter Brown Award, presented annually to the best American-born college hockey player in New England.

The nation’s oldest nationally-recognized college hockey honor, the Walter Brown Award was established in 1953 by the members of the 1933 Massachusetts Rangers, the first American team ever to win the World Championship Tournament. Brown coached the Rangers to the title in Prague, Czechoslovakia, where the team defeated Canada 2-1 in overtime in the championship game.

Three of the 2019 nominees were semifinalists a year ago: Harvard defenseman Adam Fox, Yale forward Joe Snively and Quinnipiac forward Odeen Tufto.

Player's NameClassPositionSchool
Mitchell ChaffeeSo.FMassachusetts
Blake ChristensenJr.FAmerican International
David CottonJr.FBoston College
Joel FarabeeFr.FBoston University
Adam FoxJr.DHarvard
Hayden HawkeySr.GProvidence
Brennan KapcheckSo.DAmerican International
Charlie KelleherSo.FNew Hampshire
Michael LackeySr.GHarvard
Stefanos LekkasJr.GVermont
John LeonardSo.FMassachusetts
Ryan LohinJr.FUMass Lowell
Tyler MaddenFr.FNortheastern
Chase PriskieSr.DQuinnipiac
Jacob PritchardSr.FMassachusetts
Mike RobinsonSo.GNew Hampshire
Andrew ShortridgeJr.GQuinnipiac
Joe SnivelySr.FYale
Odeen TuftoSo.FQuinnipiac
Josh WilkinsJr.FProvidence

“This number of semifinalists is slightly more than last year, when we had 16 candidates in the running,” said Gridiron Club hockey awards chairman Tim Costello in a statement. “As of press time, three of the semifinalists – Odeen Tufto, Chase Priskie and Blake Christensen – were among the nation’s top ten in points scored. Two of the goalie nominees – Andrew Shortridge and Hayden Hawkey – were in the top ten in goals-against average.

“But there’s a full month and nearly one third of the regular season league games yet to play, so a lot can change between now and the final balloting.”

The Gridiron Club will announce the finalists and winner of the 67th Walter Brown Award in March, following league playoffs and before the start of NCAA tournament play. The award will be presented to the winner at the New England College Hockey Writers’ Dinner in April.

The 2018 honoree was Northeastern forward Adam Gaudette.