Nine repeat nominees among 25 semifinalists for 2019 Joe Concannon Award

Ryan Bloom of the University of New England (UNE Athletics)
Ryan Bloom of the University of New England was a Concannon Award semifinalist in 2018 (photo: UNE Athletics).

The Gridiron Club of Greater Boston announced Thursday that 25 players are semifinalists for the 19th Joe Concannon Award, presented annually to the best American-born NCAA Division II/III hockey player in New England.

The Joe Concannon Award was established in 2001 shortly after the passing of the longtime writer for the Boston Globe, who had a great passion for the game of college hockey while always advocating strongly for amateur athletics.

Nine of the 25 semifinalists were semifinalists in 2018.

Player's NameClassPositionSchool
Nick Albano *So.DUMass Boston
Tommy BesingerSr.FEndicott
Ryan Bloom *Jr.FUniversity of New England
Mikhail BryanSr.DSuffolk
Michael CovachSr.FPlymouth State
Nick DiNicola *Sr.FFitchburg State
Danny EruzioneSo.FSalve Regina
Liam Feeney *Jr.DTrinity
Brady Fleurent *Sr.FUniversity of New England
Carlos FornarisSr.FNew England College
Walker HarrisJr.FWesleyan
Carter HorwitzSr.DEndicott
Daniel KucerovySr.FEndicott
Bailey MacBurnieJr.GUMass Boston
Chad MalinowskiSr.DCortland
Marcus MollicaSr.FWilliams
Mike Moran *Sr.FWorcester State
Nick O'ConnorSr.FColby
Matt O'Dea *Sr.FWestern New England
Nolan Redler *Sr.FUMass Boston
Nick RosaSo.FBabson
Tim SestakJr.GWesleyan
Cody TodescoSr.FBowdoin
Dante TomassiniSr.DAssumption
Zachery White *Sr.FCurry

* 2018 semifinalist

The 2018 winner was UMass Boston forward Colin Larkin.

“This is definitely among the greatest number of semifinalists we have ever had for the Concannon Award,” said Gridiron Club hockey awards committee chairman Tim Costello in a statement. “The exceptional level of play in each of the five conferences has showcased many outstanding hockey players worthy of consideration for nomination.

“It has been very challenging for the committee to reduce the list among so many outstanding performances this season. With extremely tight conference races, every player will be playing meaningful hockey in the upcoming weeks and showcasing their abilities in support of their team to separate themselves from this great field of nominees.”

The Gridiron Club will announce the finalists and winner of the award in March, following league playoffs and before the start of the NCAA D-III Frozen Four. The award will be presented to the winner at the New England College Hockey Writers Dinner in April.