Ten semifinalists announced for 2020 Mike Richter Award as top goalie in D-I men’s hockey

Cayden Primeau wins the 2019 Mike Richter award (2019 Omar Phillips)
Cayden Primeau captured the 2019 Mike Richter award and is presented the hardware by the award’s namesake during Frozen Four weekend in Buffalo, N.Y. (photo: Omar Phillips).

The 10 semifinalists for the 2020 Mike Richter Award were announced Tuesday.

The award is given to the top goaltender in Division I hockey and is named after Mike Richter, the former Wisconsin goalie and 1994 Stanley Cup winner with the New York Rangers.


Zach Driscoll, Jr., Bemidji State
Matt Galajda, Jr., Cornell
Spencer Knight, Fr., Boston College
John Lethemon, Sr., Michigan State
Strauss Mann, So., Michigan
Frank Marotte, Sr., Clarkson
Dryden McKay, So., Minnesota State
Hunter Shepard, Sr., Minnesota Duluth
Jeremy Swayman, Jr., Maine
Tyler Wall, Sr., UMass Lowell

The award winner will be announced April 10, but due to the uncertainty of the COVID-19 outbreak, a site and time have not been determined.

Candidates for the award were determined by nominations from all 60 NCAA Division I men’s coaches.

The finalists and winner are selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and members of the media.

Past winners include Cayden Primeau (Northeastern, 2019), Cale Morris (Notre Dame, 2018), Tanner Jaillet (Denver, 2017), Thatcher Demko (Boston College, 2016), Zane McIntyre (North Dakota, 2015), and Connor Hellebuyck (UMass Lowell, 2014).