Penn State’s Hults named Big Ten player, defensive player of year for ’19-20 season

LOWELL, MA - NOVEMBER 30: Cole Hults #2 of the Penn State Nittany Lions skates against the Massachusetts Lowell River Hawks during NCAA men's hockey at the Tsongas Center on November 30, 2019 in Lowell, Massachusetts. The River Hawks won 3-2 in overtime. (Photo by Rich Gagnon/USCHO) (Rich Gagnon)
Cole Hults tallied eight goals and 30 points over 34 games this past season on the Penn State blue line (photo: Rich Gagnon).

The Big Ten announced Monday the All-Big Ten teams and individual award winners as selected by the conference’s coaches and a media panel.

Penn State’s Cole Hults was named Big Ten Player of the Year and the Defensive Player of the Year. Wisconsin’s Cole Caufield was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year, while also earning scoring champion honors with 24 points in 24 conference games. Michigan’s Strauss Mann was named the Goaltender of the Year, and Minnesota’s Bob Motzko was selected as the Coach of the Year.

The Big Ten also recognized seven Sportsmanship Award honorees. The students chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These students must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.


Patrick Khodorenko, F, Michigan State
Nate Sucese, F, Penn State
Cole Caufield, F, Wisconsin
Cole Hults, D, Penn State
Wyatt Kalynuk, D, Wisconsin
Strauss Mann, G, Michigan


Jake Slaker, F, Michigan
Tanner Laczynski, F, Ohio State
Evan Barratt, F, Penn State
Dennis Cesana, D, Michigan State
Jerad Rosburg, D, Michigan State
John Lethemon, G, Michigan State


Will Lockwood, F, Michigan
Mitchell Lewandowski, F, Michigan State
Brannon McManus, F, Minnesota
Sammy Walker, F, Minnesota
Alex Limoges, F, Penn State
Roman Ahcan, F, Wisconsin
Nick Blankenburg, D, Michigan
Cam York, D, Michigan
Matt Hellickson, D, Notre Dame
Wyatt Ege, D, Ohio State
Gordi Myer, D, Ohio State
K’Andre Miller, D, Wisconsin
Cale Morris, G, Notre Dame
Tommy Nappier, G, Ohio State
Peyton Jones, G, Penn State


Johnny Beecher, F, Michigan
Ben Meyers, F, Minnesota
Cole Caufield, F, Wisconsin
Cam York, D, Michigan
Jackson LaCombe, D, Minnesota
Jared Moe, G, Minnesota

The Big Ten Sportsmanship Award honorees are Luke Martin, Michigan; Sam Saliba, Michigan State; Tyler Nanne, Minnesota; Cal Burke, Notre Dame; Gordi Myer, Ohio State; Aarne Talvitie, Penn State; and Wyatt Kalynuk, Wisconsin.