Norwich’s Aucoin Wins Inaugural Concannon Award

Norwich senior forward Keith Aucoin has been named the first recipient of the Joe Concannon Memorial Award, to be given annually to the best American-born Division II-III college hockey player in New England.

The honor is the Division II-III equivalent of the Walter Brown Award, both given by the Gridiron Club of Greater Boston.

Aucoin, who was also named Division III Player of the Year by the American Hockey Coaches Association, tallied 26 goals and 30 assists to lead his team in scoring. He is the all-time leading scorer in Norwich history with 136 points.

“A real blue-collar guy,” said Norwich head coach Mike McShane. “He has magic hands -– played a lot like Rick Middleton and broke just about every school record. He was also our captain, and he spent a lot of time with some of the disadvantaged kids in our local community too. Keith is a good leader and just a great person.”

Aucoin was an integral part of Norwich’s 1999-2000 Division III national championship. He was also’s Division III Player of the Year in 1998-99 and is a strong contender for that award again this season, finishing first in the fan balloting. That award is expected to be announced shortly.

Other finalists considered by the selection committee were Matt Dunn and Scott Goldman of Middlebury; Jason Boudrow of Tufts; Bobby Moss of Williams; Nick Reiser of Amherst; Scott Graham of Johnson & Wales; Steve Cuccinati of Wesleyan; Jeff Faulkner of Trinity; and Tim Yakimowsky of Wentworth.

The Joe Concannon Award, named after the legendary sportswriter for the Boston Globe, will be presented to Aucoin at the New England Hockey Writers’ Dinner on April 11.


  1. Was a real good game, some great up-and-down hockey. Unfortunately for DU, game turned on two “soft” goals when DU was controlling game and leading 3-0. Both teams showed resiliency, time just ran out. Congrats UMGC, good one bud!

    • I’ve been saying this for over a year…..Troy Terry is absolutely relentless. He is the best player in CH not named Borgstrom. Btw, we all know how talented Borgy is, but his defensive game has to improve before he makes the jump. I am surprised Monty has not made a bigger point of this to the uber-talented kid. Lastly, DU needs Hammond back (and healthy) in a big way. Hillman cannot do it by himself.

      • Very observant, as usual. Only reason Hammond played is that DU is so short on defense. If Plant, the only other senior, did not get hurt last Saturday night, Hammond would have remained inactive. He was not slated to play this weekend, first week he had practice with contact. He still does not have his skating legs, and it showed mightily. If he did not get some ice time, Hillman would have had to log 40 minutes. Rest of “D” is Freshman and Sophomores, would have been hard to ask them to play big roles against a quality team.
        I agree about Borgstrom lacking on defense, but it was not only him that needed to get back to cover. Problem is, that when Plant and Hammond are healthy, this is not required that much. Normally Plant, Hillman, and Hammond are paired with the younger players so one of them are always on the ice.

        BTW- Congrats to you too Sparky, was a nice win.

    • That first period was absolutely atrocious. Sucks for DU to blow that lead, but it did make for an exciting game during the last half.

    • I still get huge anxiety when Borg or Terry has the puck, they are dangerous. Borg really needs to work on defense though, literally non-existent

  2. All the talk here about DU and UND when the Huskies sweep the weekend series 11-2. Regardless it seems we might have the four best teams in the nation when you throw in Western Michigan. Go Huskies.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here