Humanitarian Award Nominees Announced

Fourteen players, including four repeat nominees, have been named as candidates for the ninth annual Humanitarian Award, presented annually to college hockey’s finest citizen.

Goalie Chanda Gunn is a repeat nominee.

Goalie Chanda Gunn is a repeat nominee.

Finalists will be named Jan. 8, and the recipient will be announced April 9 during the Frozen Four in Boston. Last year’s winner was Cornell forward Sam Paolini.

Historic Fanueil Hall will be the site of three of college hockey’s great events, starting with’s fourth annual Town Hall Meeting, followed by the Humanitarian Award presentation and finally the announcement of the Hobey Baker Memorial Award winner.


Player Year School Hometown
Rachel Barrie * Sr St. Lawrence Arnprior, Ont.
Mike Betz * Sr Ohio State Elizabeth, Pa.
Dan Boeser Sr Wisconsin Savage, Minn.
Frank Doyle Sr Maine Guelph, Ont.
Trevor Edwards Sr Clarkson Carleton Place, Ont.
Patrick Foley * Sr New Hampshire Milton, Mass.
Rob Fried Sr Harvard Macon, Ga.
Chanda Gunn * Jr Northeastern Hunnington Beach, Calif.
Neil Komadoski Sr Notre Dame South Bend, Ind.
Emma Laaksonen Sr Ohio State Espoo, Finland
Jamie Laubisch Sr Union Schenectady, N.Y.
Chelsea Loughran Sr Brown Cotuit, Mass.
Peter Trovato Jr Massachusetts N. Attleboro, Mass.
Mark Persick Jr Canisius Yorkton, Sask.

* — repeat nominee