Division III All-USCHO Teams Announced

Gustavus Adolphus senior forward David Martinson has been selected the USCHO.com National Division III Player of the Year. The St. Louis Park, Minn. native tallied 29 goals and 20 assists to lead the Golden Gusties to a 20-7-2 record and a berth in the NCAA Division III tournament.

USCHO.com has also named Norwich coach Mike McShane National Division III Coach of the Year.

McShane’s Norwich Cadets captured their third NCAA title under his guidance, finishing with a 25-1-4 record. He is 318-90-21 all-time behind the Norwich bench.

The winners and all-star teams are selected by the USCHO.com staff. The complete list:

East First Team

Goal: Ryan Klingensmith, sr., Norwich
Defense: Kyle Shearer-Hardy, jr., Bowdoin
Defense: Eric Tallent, sr., Norwich
Forward: Chad Anderson, jr., Norwich
Forward: Eric Selleck, so., Oswego
Forward: Alex Smigelski, sr., Williams

East Second Team

Goal: Scott Barchard, so., Tufts
Defense: A.J. Mikkelsen, sr., Manhattanville
Defense: Steve Rizer, jr., Fredonia
Forward: Mickey Lang, jr., Manhattanville
Forward: Neil Musselwhite, sr., Oswego
Forward: Coleman Noonan, jr., St. Anselm

Honorable Mention: Cole Anderson (Amherst), Chris Chambers (Plymouth State), Paul Conter (S. Maine), Martin Drolet (Middlebury), Justin Fox (Oswego), Craig Houle (Johnson & Wales), Skylur Jameson (Wentworth), Jeff Olitch (Wentworth), Darcy Vaillancourt (Elmira)

Gustavus Adolphus senior forward David Martinson is the USCHO Division III Player of the Year (photo: Matthew Webb).

Gustavus Adolphus senior forward David Martinson is the USCHO Division III Player of the Year (photo: Matthew Webb).

East Rookie Team

Goal: John Leis, Plattsburgh
Defense: Shaun Jameson, Wentworth
Defense: Jack Hawkrigg, Amherst
Forward: Tucker Mullin, St. Anselm
Forward: Jason Pietrasiak, Johnson & Wales
Forward: Kyle Thomas, Norwich

Honorable Mention: Mathieu Dubac (Middlebury), Blake Forkey (Norwich), Trevor John (Tufts), Zach Kohn (Nichols), Mike Testa (Babson), Jon Whitelaw (Oswego), Richie Zobak (Plymouth State)

West First Team

Goal: B.J. O’Brien, jr., St. Norbert
Defense: Mitch Carlson, jr., Gustavus Adolphus
Defense: Nick Tabisz, sr., St. Norbert
Forward: Jordan Chong, sr., St. Scholastica
Forward: Joel Gaulrapp, sr., UW-Stout
Forward: David Martinson, sr., Gustavus Adolphus

West Second Team

Goal: Josh Swartout, jr., Gustavus Adolphus
Defense: Chris Berenguer, jr., Hamline
Defense: Chris Stansik, jr., Adrian
Forward: Mike Dahlinger, jr., Adrian
Forward: Chris Johnson, sr., Augsburg
Forward: Chris Wilson, sr., UW-Superior

Honorable Mention: Tyler Czuba (UW-River Falls), Jeremy Klaver (Adrian), Sam Tikka (St. Norbert)

A fitting celebration for Norwich's Mike McShane, USCHO's D-III Coach of the Year.

A fitting celebration for Norwich’s Mike McShane, USCHO’s D-III Coach of the Year.

West Rookie Team

Goal: Justin Lochner, Augsburg
Defense: Justin Favreau, St. Norbert
Defense: Brady Horn, UW-River Falls
Forward: Dakota Dubetz, Marian
Forward: Zach Graham, Adrian
Forward: Cody Keefer, St. Norbert

Honorable Mention: Spencer Anderson (Hamline), Jon Crouse (Bethel), Tommy Fitzpatrick (Marian), Johnny Meo (UW-Stevens Point), Tyler Miller (St. Scholastica), Kraig Wright (Northland)

D-III Player of the Year: David Martinson, Gustavus Adolphus

D-III Coach of the Year:Mike McShane, Norwich


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here