Sharkey’s fight

It’s been an emotion week in the hockey community in Rochester, NY. On Saturday, the RIT Tigers played in front of their largest crowd ever on home ice, a sellout crowd of 10,556. RIT and Massachusetts-Lowell skated to a 4-4 with the Riverhawks’ Scott Campbell getting the tying goal with just 1.3 seconds to play.

The game also featured a pre-game ceremony and fundraiser to honor former Rochester Americans (AHL) player Craig “Sharky” Charron, who played his college hockey at Lowell. Charron was diagnosed with stomach cancer early this year. The RIT players wore special black jerseys that were actioned off after the game, raising almost $7,000 for Craig and his family. The Riverhawks donned throwback Lowell Chiefs sweaters in warm-ups, each with Charron’s No. 5 on the back. Those jerseys will be actioned off in Lowell this weekend.

Charron was too ill to attend the ceremony, and word has come that he passed away early this morning.

Craig was one of the most popular Amerks to ever don the Red, White and Blue shield, and made his home in the Rochester area after retiring, coaching high school and youth hockey. He leaves behind a wife and four young children. He was only 42.

Donations are being accepted at

Player of the Week

Last week’s winner Cory Conacher racked up five points in a pair of games, and that looks to be the standard this week as well.

POTW – Everett Sheen – Holy Cross.

The senior from Lethbridge, Alberta had a pair of goals and three assists to help the Crusaders to a pair of road wins over AIC and Army.


  • Brooks Ostergard – Robert Morris. The junior goaltender picked up a pair of wins last week, stopping 64 out of 69 shots in victories over Ohio State and Air Force.
  • Carsen Chubak – Niagara. Making his collegiate debut in net, Chubak make 39 saves in a 2-2 tie with Mass-Lowell.

Getting My Vote

My Men’s D-I Poll ballot this week:

1. Boston College

2. North Dakota

3. Boston University

4. Miami

5. Duluth

6. Yale

7. Alaska

8. New Hampshire

9. Nebraska-Omaha

10. Wisconsin

11. Notre Dame

12. Denver

13. Cornell

14. Michigan State

15. Maine

16. Colorado College

17. Union

18. St. Cloud

19. Robert Morris

20. Minnesota