Union coach Leaman wins Spencer Penrose Award

Leading Union to a first place regular season finish in the ECAC has earned Nate Leaman the 2011 Spencer Penrose Award.

Union set school records for overall wins (26) and conference wins (17) en route to the school’s first Cleary Cup (ECAC regular season title) and first NCAA Division I tournament berth.

Leaman recently completed his eighth season as the Dutchmen’s head coach and in that time has compiled an overall record of 138-127-35. His 138 wins are the most of any of the 14 head coaches in school history.

This season marked the fourth straight season in which the win total topped the previous year.

The runner-up for this year’s Spencer Penrose Award was Scott Sandelin of the national champion Minnesota-Duluth Bulldogs.