Sites for 2013 NCAA D-I men’s regionals announced

The NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Committee announced Wednesday the four regional sites for the 2013 NCAA Tournament.

The four sites and regionals, being held March 29-31, include the East Regional in Providence, R.I.; Northeast Regional in Manchester, N.H.; Midwest Regional in Toledo, Ohio; and the West Regional in Grand Rapids, Mich.

Brown will serve as hosts for the East Regional and New Hampshire will host the Northeast Regional. Bowling Green will host the Midwest Regional and Michigan will host the West Regional.

“The committee has placed an emphasis in the regional rounds on neutral-site buildings with NHL-size ice surfaces,” said committee chair and Wisconsin associate AD Sean Frazier. “All of these facilities meet those standards and we feel the arenas and hosts will be able to provide a tremendous championship opportunity for the student-athletes.”

The 2013 Frozen Four will be held April 11 and 13 at the Consol Energy Center in Pittsburgh.