Gaudreau, Hartzell, LeBlanc make up 2013 Hobey Hat Trick

A pair of Frozen Four participants and the national points-per-game leader are the three members of the 2013 Hobey Hat Trick.

Quinnipiac goaltender Eric Hartzell, St. Cloud State forward Drew LeBlanc and Boston College forward Johnny Gaudreau were the three top vote-getters from the 23-person selection committee for the Hobey Baker Award.

One of the three will be announced as the 2013 winner of the award on Friday, April 12 in Pittsburgh. The 6 p.m. EDT ceremony is scheduled to be aired on NHL Network.

That’s one day after Hartzell and LeBlanc will meet in the national semifinals at Consol Energy Center.

Hartzell has been the top player for No. 1 Quinnipiac all season, ranking second in the nation in winning percentage (.788, 29-6-5), third in goals against average (1.55) and eighth in save percentage (.933).

LeBlanc leads the nation in assists (37) and is ninth in points per game (1.22, 50 points). A two-time captain, he returned from a medical redshirt season after suffering a compound fracture of his left leg last season to lead the Huskies to the Frozen Four.

Gaudreau is tops in the country with 1.46 points per game (21 goals, 51 points). With an average of 0.60 goals per game, he’s fifth nationally.

All three were players of the year in their conference — Hartzell in ECAC Hockey, LeBlanc in the WCHA and Gaudreau in Hockey East.

The criteria for the award include displaying outstanding skills in all phases of the game, strength of character on and off the ice, sportsmanship and scholastic achievements.

The Hobey Hat Trick reflects the top three from the voting that has already taken place for the award winner. Voting by coaches determined the original list of 10 finalists that also included St. Lawrence forward Greg Carey, Niagara goaltender Carsen Chubak, Miami forward Austin Czarnik, St. Lawrence forward Kyle Flanagan, North Dakota forwards Corban Knight and Danny Kristo and Nebraska-Omaha forward Ryan Walters.