Defending D-III men’s champs Wisconsin-Eau Claire picked to win WIAC

Wisconsin-Eau Claire, the defending NCAA Division III champion, has been selected to win the WIAC championship, according to a preseason poll conducted with the league’s head coaches and sports information directors on Wednesday.

This season is the first that conference teams will compete solely under the banner of the WIAC after previously being members of the NCHA.

Eau Claire picked up eight first-place votes in the poll.

Team (First-place votes)
1. Wisconsin-Eau Claire (8)
2. Wisconsin-Stevens Point (2)
3. Wisconsin-River Falls
4. Wisconsin-Superior
5. Wisconsin-Stout