Ten finalists named for four men’s Frozen Four bids

Ten finalists have been named in bidding to host men’s Frozen Fours from 2015 to 2018, the NCAA announced Wednesday.

They are:

• TD Garden, Boston (Hockey East/Massachusetts Sports Marketing Association)
• First Niagara Center, Buffalo, N.Y. (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference/Canisius/Niagara)
• Barclays Center, Brooklyn, N.Y. (ECAC Hockey)
• Wells Fargo Center, Philadelphia (Penn State/Philadelphia Sports Congress)
• Consol Energy Center, Pittsburgh (Robert Morris)
• Nationwide Arena, Columbus, Ohio (Ohio State/Columbus Sports Commission)
• Verizon Center, Washington, D.C. (Navy/Greater Washington Sports Alliance)
• Xcel Energy Center, St. Paul, Minn. (Minnesota)
• United Center, Chicago (Notre Dame/Chicago Sports Commission)
• Tampa Bay Times Forum, Tampa, Fla. (Wisconsin/Tampa Bay Sports Commission)

Seven of the 10 will have hosted a Frozen Four once Philadelphia hosts this season’s event. Barclays Center, Nationwide Arena and United Center are the exceptions.

The NCAA also announced finalists for Division I women’s and Division III men’s championships.

Four sites were chosen as finalists for the women’s Frozen Four:

• Family Arena, St. Charles, Mo. (Lindenwood/St. Louis Sports Commission)
• Ridder Arena, Minneapolis (Minnesota)
• Whittemore Center Arena, Durham, N.H. (New Hampshire)
• Ralph Engelstad Arena, Grand Forks, N.D. (North Dakota)

Three sites are in the running to host Division III men’s championships:

• Ridder Arena, Minneapolis (St. Scholastica)
• Herb Brooks Ice Arena, Lake Placid, N.Y. (Plattsburgh State/Olympic Regional Development Authority)
• Utica Memorial Auditorium, Utica, N.Y. (Utica)

The Division III women’s championship will be held at campus sites.

The finalists were selected by the NCAA hockey committees. Winners are scheduled to be announced on Dec. 11.