NCAA rules committee members join us on Feb. 4 edition of USCHO Live!

On the Feb. 4 episode of USCHO Live! we will have our annual check in with the NCAA Rules Committee on rules and officiating. We’ll be joined by Ty Halpin, NCAA liaison for rules, and Steve Piotrowski, NCAA ice hockey rules secretary, beginning at 8:20 p.m. ET. For our second segment at 8:40, Steve and Ty will stay on the line and be joined by Michigan State coach Tom Anastos (who is also chair of the rules committee).

Join us for the conversation and information, Tuesday, Feb. 4, from 8 to 9 p.m. ET at If you can’t listen live, check out the podcast of USCHO Live! available on the player at the right (click through if you’re reading this via RSS.)

We will not be able to take calls during this week’s program, but you are invited to ask questions by sending your tweets to @USCHO, or your emails to [email protected].

Each episode of USCHO Live! features a look at news around NCAA hockey, a look ahead at upcoming games and events, and conversation with people who coach, administer and play college hockey, and journalists who cover the sport.

About the hosts

Jim Connelly is a senior writer at and has been with the site since 1999. He is based in Boston and regularly covers Hockey East. He began with as the correspondent covering the MAAC, which nowadays is known as Atlantic Hockey. Each week during the season, he co-writes “Tuesday Morning Quarterback.” Jim is the winner of the 2012 Joe Concannon award, and is a studio analyst for NESN.

Ed Trefzger has been part of USCHO since 1999 and now serves as a senior writer and director of technology. He has been a part of the radio broadcasts of Rochester Institute of Technology hockey since their inception — serving as a producer, studio host, color commentator and as RIT’s play-by-play voice for seven seasons. Ed is VP and general manager of CBS Sports Radio affiliates 1310 and 1590 The Team in Rochester, N.Y.