Semifinalists announced for 2014 Concannon Award

Senior goaltender Benjamin Coulthard has helped lead a young Trinity squad this season (photo: David Kingsley).

The Gridiron Club of Greater Boston announced Thursday the 18 semifinalists for the 14th annual Joe Concannon Award, presented each year to the best American-born college hockey player in New England playing at the Division II/III level.

This year’s list consists of 12 forwards, two defensemen and four goaltenders. The candidates include eight players from the NESCAC, five from the ECAC East, two from the ECAC Northeast, two from the Northeast-10 and one from the MASCAC.

Player's NamePositionClassTeam
Joey BallmerGFr.Johnson and Wales
Jackson BrewerFJr.Trinity
J.C. CangelosiFJr.Connecticut College
Ben ChwickFSr.Colby
Joe CollinsFSo.Southern New Hampshire
Benjamin CoulthardGSr.Trinity
Travis DanielFSr.Massachusetts-Boston
Aaron DeutschDJr.Amherst
Sean DoughertyGJr.Williams
Colin DowneyF/DSr.Bowdoin
Shane GormanFSr.Norwich
Nick LanzaFSr.Colby
Peter MacIntyreFSo.Massachusetts-Boston
Brendan McCarronFSr.Framingham State
Peter MelmanFJr.University of New England
Jamie MurrayGSo.Babson
Josh ObregonFSo.Johnson and Wales
Bryan RooneyFSr.Stonehill

“There really aren’t any more upsets, either in or outside of conference play, as the level of competition this season has truly been amazing,” said Gridiron Club hockey awards committee chairman Tim Costello in a news release. “There have been a number of different teams in and out of the national rankings this season, and the consideration we’re seen across all of the conferences reflects the high level of play and talent found in New England. Our committee believes this is another outstanding group of semifinalists.

“It will be a challenge for the committee to pick the winner from the players nominated.”

Norwich’s Colin Mulvey won the award in 2013.

The Gridiron Club plans to announce the finalists and winner of the award in March, prior to the start of NCAA Frozen Four Tournament play on March 21 and will present the award during the New England Hockey Writers dinner in April.