Brandt, Carpenter, Poulin the three finalists for 2015 Kazmaier Award

Boston University senior Marie-Philip Poulin is one of three finalists for the 2015 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award (photo: Melissa Wade).

After announcing the 10 semifinalists on Feb. 26, the three finalists were announced Thursday for the 2015 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award.

Minnesota junior forward Hannah Brandt, Boston College junior forward Alex Carpenter and Boston University senior forward Marie-Philip Poulin are the three remaining finalists for the award.

The award will be presented at a brunch ceremony at the McNamara Alumni Center in Minneapolis on Saturday, March 21, as part of the NCAA women’s Frozen Four weekend.

The selection process commenced in early February when NCAA Division I women’s hockey coaches were asked to nominate players for the award. Players who were nominated by two or more coaches were then placed on an official ballot, which was sent back to the coaches to vote for the top 10 finalists. The three finalists, including the recipient of the 2015 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, were then chosen by a 13-person selection committee made up of NCAA Division I women’s hockey coaches, representatives of print and broadcast media, an at-large member and a representative of USA Hockey.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here