RIT’s Garbowsky collects Atlantic Hockey Player of the Year laurels

Matt Garbowsky put together a solid season for RIT and parlayed that into being named Atlantic Hockey Player of the Year for the 2014-15 season (photo: Omar Phillips).

Atlantic Hockey unveiled its year-end award winners Thursday night and also named three All-Conference teams and the Gladiator Custom Mouthguards All-Rookie Team.

RIT’s Matt Garbowsky was named Player of the Year, Best Defensive Forward and also won the scoring trophy after leading the conference in scoring with 23 goals and 44 points in 28 games.

Bentley’s Steve Weinstein took home Best Defenseman honors, while Canisius’ Keegan Asmundson won the goaltending trophy with a 1.89 GAA and a .931 save percentage.

Tyler Pham from Army was selected Rookie of the Year and Robert Morris bench boss Derek Schooley was tabbed Coach of the Year.

Army’s Zak Zaremba earned the individual sportsmanship award and American International won the team sportsmanship award.

2014-15 First Team All-Conference

Player's NamePositionSchool
Matt GarbowskyFRIT
Cody WydoFRobert Morris
Andrew GladiukFBentley
Steve WeinsteinDBentley
Chris RumbleDCanisius
Matt GinnGHoly Cross

2014-15 Second Team All-Conference

Player's NamePositionSchool
Ralph CuddemiFCanisius
Josh MitchellFRIT
Cole GunnerFAir Force
Brady NorrishDRIT
Ryan MisiakDMercyhurst
Keegan AsmundsonGCanisius

2014-15 Third Team All-Conference

Player's NamePositionSchool
Daniel BahntgeFMercyhurst
Zac LynchFRobert Morris
Brad McGowanFRIT
Alexander KuqaliDRIT
Chase GolightlyDRobert Morris
Jayson ArgueGBentley
Dalton IzykGRobert Morris

2014-15 All-Rookie Team

Player's NamePositionSchool
Tyler PhamFArmy
Jack RileyFMercyhurst
Brady FergusonFRobert Morris
Brady NorrishDRIT
Keegan HarperDNiagara
Jayson ArgueGBentley