Harvard’s Vesey earns ECAC Hockey Player of the Year honors

Jimmy Vesey scored 29 goals for Harvard in 2014-15 and was named ECAC Hockey Player of the Year (photo: Melissa Wade).

ECAC Hockey on Friday announced its year-end individual awards, in addition to three All-League teams and an All-Rookie Team.

Harvard’s Jimmy Vesey was named Player of the Year, while Yale’s Alex Lyon took home Ken Dryden Goaltender of the Year honors and Greg Carvel from St. Lawrence was named the Tim Taylor Coach of the Year.

St. Lawrence goalie Kyle Hayton earned Rookie of the Year, Yale’s Rob O’Gara was named Best Defensive Defenseman and Cornell’s Cole Bardreau took home Best Defensive Forward laurels.

The Student-Athlete of the Year is Harvard’s Kyle Criscuolo and Yale as a team won the league’s Sportsmanship Trophy.

2014-15 First Team All-ECAC

Player's NamePositionSchool
Daniel CiampiniFUnion
Matthew PecaFQuinnipiac
Jimmy VeseyFHarvard
Rob O'GaraDYale
Joakim RyanDCornell
Alex LyonGYale

2014-15 Second Team All-ECAC

Player's NamePositionSchool
Sam AnasFQuinnipiac
Kyle CriscuoloFHarvard
Eric NeileyFDartmouth
Eric SweetmanDSt. Lawrence
Patrick McNallyDHarvard
Kyle HaytonGSt. Lawrence

2014-15 Third Team All-ECAC

Player's NamePositionSchool
Cole BardreauFCornell
Kyle BaunFColgate
Tyson SpinkFColgate
Danny FedericoDQuinnipiac
Jeff TaylorDUnion
Michael GarteigGQuinnipiac

2014-15 ECAC All-Rookie Team

Player's NamePositionSchool
Spencer FooFUnion
Drew MelansonFRensselaer
Landon SmithFQuinnipiac
Nolan GluchowskiDSt. Lawrence
Kelly SummersDClarkson
Kyle HaytonGSt. Lawrence