Next two Ice Breaker Tournaments announced, will be held in Portland, Denver

It’s only May, but the start of the next two college hockey seasons by way of the Ice Breaker Tournament has been announced.

The 2016 Ice Breaker Tournament will be held at Denver’s Magness Arena from Oct. 7-8, 2016.

Air Force, Boston College and Ohio State will join Denver for the tournament.

“We’re very excited to be hosting the Ice Breaker Tournament in partnership with College Hockey Inc. in 2016 and we’re honored that the 20th edition of this fantastic event will be staged at Magness Arena,” said Pioneers coach Jim Montgomery in a news release. “This tournament is one of the top showcase events for college hockey in the country and we’re thrilled that our great fans will again have the opportunity to experience it firsthand. Denver won this tournament the last time it was at Magness and we’re looking forward to kicking off the 2016-17 college hockey season by taking on some great competition.”

Prior to that, the 2015 Ice Breaker Tournament is set for Oct. 9 and 10 at the Cross Insurance Ice Arena in Portland, Maine, and will feature Maine, North Dakota, Michigan State and Lake Superior State.

“The Ice Breaker Tournament signals the beginning of the college hockey season by showcasing some of the Nation’s premier college hockey programs,” said Maine coach Red Gendron in a statement. “The great State of Maine and all her citizens, the city of Portland, and the Cross Insurance Arena will provide the visiting schools and all Maine hockey fans with an extraordinary experience. The Hockey will be fast, furious, and entertaining for all who play and for all who attend.”



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here