Five dynamic finalists announced for 2016 Mike Richter Award

Alex Lyon has won 19 games this season for tenth-ranked Yale (photo: Rachel Lewis).

From an initial list of nearly 30 goalies comes Wednesday’s announcement of the top five finalists for the 2016 Mike Richter Award.

The final five:

Player's NameClassSchoolStats
Kevin BoyleSr.Massachusetts-Lowell22-8-5, 1.80, .934
Thatcher DemkoJr.Boston College25-6-4, 1.78, .938
Cam JohnsonSo.North Dakota20-3-1, 1.58, .938
Charlie LindgrenSt. Cloud State28-8-1, 2.08, .926
Alex LyonJr.Yale19-7-4, 1.59, .938

Candidates for the award were determined by nominations from all 60 NCAA Division I men’s head coaches. The finalists and winner are selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and members of the media. The 2016 edition of the award will be presented on April 8 at the Frozen Four in Tampa.

UMass Lowell’s Connor Hellebuyck won the inaugural award in 2014 and North Dakota’s Zane McIntyre took home the honor last season.