Michigan’s top-line forwards all land spots on list of 2016 Hobey Baker Award finalists

Michigan’s Kyle Connor leads the country with 30 goals and 61 points (photo: Michael Dubicki).

Michigan’s “CCM Line” made history when the 10 finalists for the 2016 Hobey Baker Award were released on Wednesday.

JT Compher, Kyle Connor and Tyler Motte became the first complete line to all be named to the list of finalists.

It’s also only the third time in the 36-year history of the award, and first since 2000, that three players from the same team are among the finalists.

The full list:

Player's NamePositionClassSchoolStats
JT CompherFJr.Michigan13-39-52 (34)
Kyle ConnorFFr.Michigan30-31-61 (34)
Thatcher DemkoGJr.Boston College25-6-4, 1.78, .938
Zac LynchFSr.Robert Morris24-28-52 (37)
Alex LyonGJr.Yale19-7-4, 1.59, .938
Tyler MotteFJr.Michigan29-21-50 (34)
Alex PetanFSr.Michigan Tech18-15-33 (36)
Andrew PoturalskiFSo.New Hampshire22-30-52 (37)
Ethan ProwDSr.St. Cloud State8-27-35 (34)
Jimmy VeseyFSr.Harvard23-21-44 (30)

Vesey is the only returning finalist from 2015, when he was part of the Hobey Hat Trick along with winner Jack Eichel of Boston University and North Dakota’s Zane McIntyre.

Voting will take place after the NCAA regionals, with the Hobey Hat Trick scheduled to be announced on March 31.

The winner will be announced in a ceremony at 6 p.m. EDT on Friday, April 8 at the Tampa Theatre in Tampa, Fla., during the Frozen Four. That is scheduled to be broadcast on the NHL Network.

Compher, Connor and Motte are the first trio of finalists from the same team since Boston College’s Mike Mottau, Jeff Farkas and Brian Gionta in 2000. Michigan also had three finalists in 1994: David Oliver, Steve Shields and Brian Wiseman.