Four men’s D-III tournament semifinalists among 2016 Edward Jeremiah Award nominees

St. Norbert coach Tim Coghlin is a two-time winner of the Edward Jeremiah Award (photo: St. Norbert Athletics).

Eleven coaches have been named finalists for the Edward Jeremiah Award, given annually to the Division III men’s Coach of the Year.

Named in honor of the former Dartmouth head coach, the Jeremiah Award will be presented during the AHCA Convention on April 27, in Naples, Fla.

The nominees represent any coach who won or shared Coach of the Year honors in his conference this past season, along with coaches whose teams have advanced to the 2016 semifinals of the national championship.

Of this year’s finalists, two are past recipients in Tim Coghlin of St. Norbert (2008, 2011) and Chris Schultz of Geneseo (2014). All four NCAA semifinalists are coached by conference Coach of the Year recipients this season.

The winner will be announced Thursday evening at the student-athlete banquet at the Division III tournament being played this weekend at Herb Brooks Arena in Lake Placid, N.Y.

The nominees:

Peter BelisleMassachusetts-BostonNEHC Coach of the Year, NCAA semifinalist
Lance BradyAssumptionNE-10 Coach of the Year
Chris BrooksWisconsin-Stevens Point Co-WIAC Coach of the Year, NCAA semifinalist
Chris BrownAugsburgMIAC Coach of the Year
Tim CoghlinSt. NorbertNCHA Coach of the Year, NCAA semifinalist
Steve FreemanWisconsin-River FallsCo-WIAC Coach of the Year
Bill KangasWilliamsNESCAC Coach of the Year
Bill O'NeillSalem StateMASCAC Coach of the Year
Chris SchultzGeneseoSUNYAC Coach of the Year, NCAA semifinalist
Mark TaylorHobartECAC West Coach of the Year
R.J. TolanEndicottECAC Northeast Coach of the Year


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here