Men’s Division III national tournament moves to 12 teams for 2017 event

According to Page 12 of the 2017 Division III Men’s Ice Hockey Championship Pre-Championship Manual, the Division III tournament next spring will be comprised of 12 teams.

The championship playoff format involves four single first-round games and four quarterfinal games that are played on the campuses of the participating institutions.

All rounds of the championship are single-elimination.

The four quarterfinal winners will advance to the final championship site at the Utica Memorial Auditorium in Utica, N.Y., for the semifinals and championship game, which will be played March 24 and 25, 2017.

While no formal announcement was made regarding the tournament going from 11 teams to 12 teams, an NCAA spokesman confirmed the change to



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here