NEHC adds ECAC West member Hobart for 2017-18 season

Hobart has been accepted as a member of the NEHC, effective for the 2017-18 season.

Hobart will join Babson, Castleton, Massachusetts-Boston, New England College, Norwich, Skidmore and Southern Maine to bring the men’s division to eight members next season.

“On behalf of the NEHC, I am excited to welcome Hobart to the league next season,” NEHC commissioner Katie Boldvich said in a statement. “Their institution aligns philosophically with our current membership and their commitment to and strength of their men’s hockey program will make the league stronger. I’d like to thank Hobart athletic director Mike Hanna and the league athletic directors for their leadership and vision in adding the Statesmen to the NEHC.”

Competing since the 1978-79 season, Hobart appeared in six NCAA tournaments, advancing to the semifinals twice. The Statesmen have also won four conference titles, dating back to the 2003-04 season.

“Joining the NEHC is an exciting opportunity for Hobart hockey and we are grateful for the invitation,” added Hanna. “The footprint of the conference meshes well with our alumni base and New England is one of the college’s most important recruiting regions. Joining the NEHC is a strong step forward for Hobart athletics and our hockey program.”

“I believe this is the right move for Hobart College hockey,” said Hobart coach Mark Taylor. “Through the years, we’ve also built some great rivalries with the teams in the ECAC West and I expect some of them to continue. Over the past couple of years, we’ve started rivalries with NEHC members Babson and Skidmore. And I’m excited to begin new ones with the other NEHC members.”
Hobart currently competes in the ECAC West. Both Hobart and William Smith will leave the ECAC West at the end of this season. The Herons will join the newly created United Collegiate Hockey Conference for the 2017-18 season.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here