Senior CLASS Award finalists narrowed down to 10 candidates

Ten NCAA men’s student-athletes who excel both on and off the ice were selected as finalists Friday for the 2016-17 Senior CLASS Award in collegiate hockey.

To be eligible for the award, student-athletes must be classified as NCAA Division I seniors and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award “focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their athletic platforms to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities,” according to a news release

The finalists were chosen by national media from the list of candidates announced in January.

Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to submit votes online at the Senior CLASS Award website through March 27. Fan votes will be combined with those of the media and Division I head coaches to determine the winners.

The Senior CLASS Award recipients will be announced during the 2017 Frozen Four in Chicago.

Men’s Hockey Senior CLASS Finalists

Gavin Bayreuther, St. Lawrence
Will Butcher, Denver
Parker Gahagen, Army West Point
David Goodwin, Penn State
Brendan Harms, Bemidji State
Johnny Hrabovsky, Air Force
Alexander Kerfoot, Harvard
Brock Maschmeyer, Northern Michigan
Chad McDonald, Ferris State
John Stevens, Northeastern


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here