Fifteen D-I seniors named 2017 Senior CLASS candidates

Nick Schilkey (37 - Ohio State) (Omar Phillips)
Ohio State’s Nick Schilkey is one of 15 candidates for the prestigious Senior CLASS Award (photo: Omar Phillips).

Fifteen of the top men’s Division I players who excel both on and off the ice were selected as candidates Friday for the 2016-17 Senior CLASS Award.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities, according to a news release.

The 15 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists in February and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the Frozen Four in April.

2017 Senior CLASS Award candidates

Player's NameSchool
Gavin BayreutherSt. Lawrence
Will ButcherDenver
James de HaasClarkson
Max FrenchBentley
Parker GahagenArmy West Point
David GoodwinPenn State
Brendan HarmsBemidji State
Johnny HrabovskyAir Force
Alexander KerfootHarvard
Justin KloosMinnesota
Brock MaschmeyerNorthern Michigan
Chad McDonaldFerris State
Nick SchilkeyOhio State
John StevensNortheastern
Eric SweetmanSt. Lawrence


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here