Twenty players named as candidates for 2017-18 Senior CLASS Award

23 Jan 16:  Brendan Harms  (Bemidji State - 18). The University of Minnesota Golden Gophers play against the Bemidji State University Beavers in a North Star College Cup semifinal matchup at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul, MN. (Jim Rosvold)
Bemidji State’s Brendan Harms was named the 2016-17 Senior CLASS Award winner (photo: Jim Rosvold).

Twenty of the top NCAA men’s hockey student-athletes who excel both on and off the ice were selected as candidates Wednesday for the 2017-18 Senior CLASS Award.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.

Player's NameSchool
Dylan AboodAir Force
Louie BelpedioMiami
Michael BitzerBemidji State
Tim DavisonWisconsin
Andrew DorantesFerris State
Jake EvansNotre Dame
Brady FergusonRobert Morris
Carson GattMichigan State
Karson KuhlmanMinnesota Duluth
Sam LaffertyBrown
Alfred LarssonMerrimack
Merrick MadsenHarvard
Mitch McLainBowling Green
Brady NorrishRIT
Judd PetersonSt. Cloud State
Tyler PhamArmy West Point
Sam PiazzaMichigan
Austin PoganskiNorth Dakota
Ryan SchmelzerCanisius
Jared WilsonRensselaer

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 20 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists in February, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2018 Frozen Four in April.

Last year’s winner was Bemidji State forward Brendan Harms.