Fifteen players announced as Senior CLASS Award candidates for 2019 honors

17 MAR 2018: Jake Evans (ND - 18). The University of Notre Dame Fighting Irish host the Ohio State University in the 2018 B1G Championship at Compton Family Ice Arena in South Bend, IN. (Rachel Lewis - USCHO) (Rachel Lewis/©Rachel Lewis)
Jake Evans led Notre Dame to a Big Ten title last season and also claimed individual honors as the Senior CLASS Award winner (photo: Rachel Lewis).

Fifteen players were selected Tuesday as candidates for the 2018-19 Senior CLASS Award.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 15 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists in February, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the Frozen Four in April.

Notre Dame forward Jake Evans was named the 2018 winner of the award.

2018-19 Senior CLASS Award Candidates

Chase Berger, Penn State
Mason Bergh, Colorado College
Erik Brown, RIT
Ian Edmondson, Canisius
Kyle Haak, Air Force
Tanner Jago, Bentley
Nick Jones, North Dakota
Ryker Killins, Ferris State
Michael Kim, Boston College
Sasha Larocque, Ohio State
Chase Priskie, Quinnipiac
Sean Romeo, Ohio State
Jimmy Schuldt, St. Cloud State
Josh Teves, Princeton
Max Veronneau, Princeton