Gabel, Keller, Pankowski named 2019 Patty Kazmaier Award finalists

 (Tim Brule)
From left, Loren Gabel, Megan Keller and Annie Pankowski are the top three finalists for the 2019 Patty Kazmaier Award (photos: Clarkson Athletics, Boston College Athletics, Wisconsin Athletics).

Senior forward Loren Gabel (Clarkson), senior blueliner Megan Keller (Boston College) and senior forward Annie Pankowski (Wisconsin) have been named the top three finalists for the 2019 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award.

The award will be presented at a brunch ceremony at Cascade Fine Catering in Hamden, Conn., on Saturday, March 23, as part of the NCAA Women’s Frozen Four weekend hosted by Quinnipiac.

The selection process commenced earlier this month when NCAA Division I women’s hockey coaches were asked to nominate players for the award. Players who were nominated by multiple coaches were then placed on an official ballot, which was sent back to the coaches to vote for the top 10 finalists.

The independent accounting firm PricewaterhouseCoopers, LLP, tabulated the ballots.

The three finalists, including the recipient of the award, were then chosen by a 13-person selection committee made up of NCAA Division I women’s hockey coaches, representatives of print and broadcast media, an at-large member and representative of USA Hockey.

Tickets to the 2019 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award ceremony and brunch can be purchased at Individual seats to the event are $65, while tables of 10 are available for $600.

A select number of sponsorships and program advertisements are also available.