Big Ten season to start Nov. 13; full slate to feature 24 conference games for each team, four vs. Arizona State

Michigan State’s Mitchell Lewandowski celebrates a goal last season against Minnesota (photo: Michigan State Athletics).

The Big Ten announced Thursday the first half of the schedule for the 2020-21 hockey season, which is slated to start Nov. 13 with Notre Dame hosting Wisconsin.

The full schedule will feature 24 conference games for each team, plus an additional four games per school against Arizona State at Big Ten venues.

The Sun Devils travel to Michigan Nov. 14-15.

“Officially seeing part of the schedule and being able to prepare for a game again is exciting for our team, and I know the guys are itching to get back on the ice against someone in a different colored jersey,” said Arizona State coach Greg Powers in a statement. “To be able to kick off the Big Ten season at Michigan and Yost Arena is a great opening test and our guys will be ready to go.”

The 2020-21 schedule will conclude March 18-20, 2021, with the Big Ten tournament.

Big Ten hockey teams will follow the same medical protocols that were developed by the Big Ten Return to Competition Task Force and announced on Sept. 16, 2020, including daily antigen testing, enhanced cardiac screening and an enhanced data-driven approach when making decisions about practice/competition.

Arizona State University has agreed to adhere to the same testing protocols as the Big Ten.

Game times and television designations, as well as the remainder of the 2020-21 schedule and further details regarding the 2021 Big Ten tournament, will be announced at a later date.

No details were announced regarding spectators at games.