Mansoff Leads MAAC Postseason Awards

The MAAC presented its postseason awards on Wednesday night at a banquet signifying the start of the league championships here.

Headlining the winners was forward Shawn Mansoff from regular-season champion Quinnipiac College, who was selected as the Chase Manhattan Bank Offensive Player of the Year.

Joining him in receiving major awards were Sean Weaver of Canisius College, who was named the league’s Goalie of the Year, and defensemen Paul Colontino of Mercyhurst College and Steve Tobio of Bentley College, the MAAC Co-Defensive Players of the Year.

Sacred Heart head coach Shaun Hannah was honored as Coach of the Year for guiding his team to a fourth-place finish in the conference. The Pioneers finished seventh of eight teams last year, and were predicted to finish eighth of ten this season by league coaches. Instead, the Pioneers were the most-improved team in the MAAC, posting a 16-15-3 record.

Sacred Heart forward Martin Paquet was selected the MAAC Offensive Rookie of the Year, while Iona defenseman Nathan Lutz rounded out the major awards as the Defensive Rookie of the Year.

A complete listing of the two All-MAAC teams, as well as the All-Rookie team, is as follows:

First Team MAAC All-Stars          Second Team MAAC All-Stars
Shawn Mansoff, Quinnipiac F Eric Ellis, Mercyhurst
Ryan Carter, Iona F Louis Goulet, Mercyhurst
Ryan Soderquist, Bentley F Martin Paquet, Sacred Heart
Chris Cerrella, Quinnipiac F
Paul Colontino, Mercyhurst D Nathan Lutz, Iona
Steve Tobio, Bentley D Jim Whelan, Holy Cross
Anthony DiPalma, Quinnipiac D
Sean Weaver, Canisius G Alexis Jutras-Binet, Sacred Heart
MAAC All-Rookie Team
Rae Metz, Fairfield F
Martin Paquet, Sacred Heart F
Brian Herbert, Quinnipiac F
Nathan Lutz, Iona D
Matt Erhart, Quinnipiac D
Les Hrapchak, Sacred Heart D
Mike Fraser, Iona G